Shock Waves: A Stellar Sophomore Effort

Published on 19 September 2023 at 20:28

North Carolina solo artist aims high with a standout pop rock record. Read more below.

Shock Waves elevates traditional pop-rock to new heights.


     Within the eclectic realm of pop-rock, Tobias H. Reese has sculpted a standout soundscape with his latest record, Shock Waves. The follow-up to his 2022 album Smoke And Mirrors: Belong To Strange, Shock Waves is a record that truly stands in a league of its own. Seamlessly blending elements of ambient, R&B, and orchestral tones, Reese elevates the traditional pop-rock formula to an avant-garde level.


     The album kicks off with Boom Boom, a track which resonates with timely concerns about the geopolitical climate. The deep imprints of Mike Haggith's 2015 track We Met As Surrogates can be felt, offering listeners an energized introduction to the world of Reese. Moving deeper, Man In The Moon emanates dark, ambient waves, playing subtle homage to Haggith's Out Of My League while still retaining its distinct flavor. While Reese shows plenty of songwriting prowess in the form of tracks like Currency Of Love, The, this record showcases a side of Reese that its predecessor didn't; instrumentals. Throughout the nine-track runtime, three instrumental tracks are featured on Shock Waves, each bringing to the table a unique feel. Destroy All Monsters revives the disco era with its playful use of synthesizers, Chemical You is a slow-burning melodic treat, and Shock Waves, the album's namesake, provides a serene yet suspenseful- almost ominous- atmosphere to close the record.


     Kicking off the record's second half, the track I'm Not The One stands particularly tall, clocking in at over six minutes. Beyond its length, the song captivates with introspective lyrics and blistering guitar solos, echoing the essence of the record as a whole; innovative arrangements, strong lyrics, and a driving rhythm. Behind the scenes, the album's production has been helmed by the trio of Reese, Tampa Enoch, and Mike Haggith. Eager fans won't have to wait long:


MorningStar Records is pleased to announce the September 23, 2023 release of Shock Waves on CD, LP, and digital download.


Track List:

01 - Boom Boom

02 - Man In The Moon

03 - Just Another Tear

04 - Destroy All Monsters

05 - Currency Of Love, The

06 - I'm Not The One

07 - Chemical You

08 - Monster Mash

09 - Shock Waves


     In an industry often criticized for its repetitive tendencies, Shock Waves stands out as a testament to the creative prowess of Tobias H. Reese, promising listeners a journey both familiar and refreshingly new.


Pre-order the album here.